Warhammer: Age of Sigmar – Loving the Lore

I’ve returned to the grimdark worlds of Games Workshop once again! Mainly due to having a huge backlog of figures to paint, getting even more figures out of storage from my mum’s and the new (monthly once again!) White Dwarf giving me a push.

I don’t know what it is but absolutely love the lore and worlds of Age of Sigmar. It is wholly unique to Games Workshop and gives you a heightened “epic” fantasy setting. Which is great because I always thought traditional fantasy Warhammer was a bit too dry and Tolkien-esque for my tastes. Gone are the knights of the Empire (for now at least) and in their place are giant gold armour clad warriors sent from the other side by the man who made himself a god king. The Stormcast Eternals are cursed to be forever reborn, loosing parts of themselves each time they are reforged in the fight against the waves of darkness that have corrupted the Nine Mortal Realms. They are ghosts of the past fighting for a future that may never come to pass.

How big, crazy and cool is that lore?!

It is also at the opposite end of the story than Warhammer 40K. 40K is always teetering on the edge of oblivion as a setting. The clock is perpetually at five to midnight until Games Workshop do the big finale of an iteration to clean the slate for a new edition with the cycle starting up again. Age of Sigmar on the other hand is a new dawn after multiple apocalypses in the Warhammer Fantasy setting. Sigmar returning with his Stormhosts is a rallying call to the rest of the realms that they can and will fight back against the forces of Chaos and Death. There is an element of hope to it all that I love. It feels new and exciting.

So at the moment I am painting my Stormcast Eternals Liberators to brush up (heh) on my skills before tackling some more complex miniatures. I’m at highlighting the armour stage at the moment which is a very intensive step for my shaky, shaky hands but one that will be worth it in the end I think judging from the result pictured above.

#tabletop #warhammer #ageofsigmar #paintingwarhammer via Instagram http://ift.tt/2bSVbWm

Leave a Reply

